Home > Business, Creativity, entertainment, humor, tech > Never wrong to entertain your customers!

Never wrong to entertain your customers!


The Hajime Japanese restaurant is the first restaurant in Bangkok serving its customers shabu-shabu by four samurai-costumed, big-armed and bright-eyed Motoman robots. Customers use a touch screen to order food or have empty dishes taken away. During a work break, the robot will dance to Japanese music to entertain.

This type of job looks like a perfect fit for the robot. Because the robots don’t need to do personal service, like overcoming obstacles to serve different food at each individual table. Instead, they will just have to pick up/ put down dishes on the rotating workbench to/from the kitchen, much like a simple working robot at an assembly line. The so-called dancing is also just some simple linear movements. However, a not exactly hi-tech can be incredibly hi-entertaining! And what can be more important to your customer other than the quality of service! Plus the immense promotion effect that has brought to the restaurant! I am impressed by the cleverness of the owner.

Inspired by this story, I was wondering why can’t some gym introduce a robot trainer just for the basic routine training schedule design for beginners. I myself has gone through the process, very simple. Just program in the basic machines for major muscle group exercise into the robot, customers will use the in-built touch screen to put in his personal info like length, weight, etc., then gets recommendations of machine selection and the seat and weight setting based on the input. If the gym could lay out those machines in clear routes, it won’t be a problem for the robot trainer to lead you to each machine, just like a human trainer would do!

This service is normally included in a membership fee, so it won’t jeopardize the extra income a gym would get from providing a personal individual trainer. On the contrary, it might attracts not only more customers but also more further personal training income. Well, between a human or a robot for this service, I know I would choose the latter 🙂

What about you?

  1. charskitchen
    May 4, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    wow, this is so cool… i can’t believe they would invest so much money into a restaurant. it does kind of take the joy out of cooking though, and hopefully us humans will still be cooking in future, even when robots could do it faster, becuase not only is there nothing more satisfying than eating a home cooked meal, while serving and cooking the food is so fun too! i hope people will continue to cook and pass down recipes for generations.
    http://www.charskitchen.wordpress.com

  2. May 4, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    This is really way cool!!

  3. May 4, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    That is really amazing! Great blog, thanks for sharing 😉

  4. May 4, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    My own feelings are mostly positive; however, I suspect that very large parts of the population will react negatively, e.g. with “They are so cold and impersonal!”, “They are creepy!”, “We cannot trust them!”, or even just “But they are not real people!”. Eventually, people will get used to robots—but it could easily take a full generation before the acceptance has become near-unanimous.

  5. May 4, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    I do not trust robots, that robot looks like it would stop working as soon as I turned my back. I would never hire a robot, I just dont trust them. What will they come up with next, the internet?

  6. May 4, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    I would choose both.
    Amazing stuff.
    D
    http://www.crazyparking.com

  7. Elizabeth
    May 4, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    For someone who has never seen a robot in their life I found that very entertaining and a very good idea. The robot in the gym idea is good too. People could choose if they wanted to have a robot trainer or human and it could bring more people in. Also it might help people to not feel so self conscious because they don’t have a physical fit trainer looking down at them and making them feel odd. It does eliminate the supplying of jobs which is a down side but, it could be a useful thing.

    • May 5, 2010 at 8:49 pm

      Like you said, some people who choose not to get a personal trainer might simply because of feeling intimidated. That’s why I think introducing a simple robot instructor would actually be creating another niche market rather than cannibalizing the current ones. As you pointed out, customers can choose.

  8. Andrea
    May 5, 2010 at 5:53 am

    LOL! I love it robots that serve food and dance as entertainment.

  9. May 5, 2010 at 6:34 am

    If I start a business now, I’d never hire robots for doing any kind of job. I’d rather give jobs to human being. Lots of people are unemployed out there. At least some humanity…

  10. Songbird
    May 5, 2010 at 7:04 am

    Oh how cool!…lol!

  11. May 5, 2010 at 9:40 am

    For some reason, I’m finding this utterly dystopian.

  12. May 5, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Sounds very Japanese! They seem to love robots and stuff!! Does seem extravagant for a restaurant, but I’m sure people will flock to see and use them.

    As for use in the gym, I like your idea, but don’t most gym machines now tailor your work out to your build, height etc anyway?

    http://danjswade.wordpress.com

    • May 5, 2010 at 9:06 pm

      Do you mean that the machine will adjust its seat level etc. automatically by reading in your input via some kind of sensor? I haven’t seen one like that yet.

  13. S.
    May 5, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    A “trainer” like this might even help newbie gym attendees find their rhythm without the embarrassment.

    If I start a business, I will try and get a robot!

  14. May 5, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Nerer wong! lol

  15. May 5, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Wow, this is incredible! It would be so much fun to eat a meal at this restaurant with all of your friends. As for your gym idea, it may seem impersonal…and one wonders whether the value would be taken away with a robot since a very fit instructor wouldn’t be the focus of your attention haha. Robots wouldn’t be as fun to look at or be inspirational to achieve a fit body!

    • May 5, 2010 at 8:34 pm

      I agree with you that to replace the personal touch of a human instructor by a robot would probably take an unforeseeable long time. But I think it would be better for human to let robots do the basic routines so we can focus more on the creative or inspiring part of a job.

  16. May 5, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Different and entertaining! I would be interested to try a place like that once but I do like personal interaction when I go and sit at a restaurant. That is definitely something different and new! Everything has its place. I would hope that restaurants would not completely convert to using robots (I do not think that will ever happen) and I would not want to use a robot to serve my customers personally but I am sure there is a percentage of people out there that would not mind being served by a machine. Thank you for sharing!

  17. May 5, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    That is super cool. I’ve noticed that a lot of Japanese businesses are fairly cutting-edge when it comes to robotic technology in their facilities.

  18. May 6, 2010 at 1:10 am

    These robots are getting to be more and more cool by the day.

    I hope to get one of these for my own home.

  19. yulin
    May 9, 2010 at 9:16 am

    maybe a robot dog is a good idea, you will have nice pet without any trouble in feeding and taking care.

    • May 9, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      There is robot dog today that can do some basic movements and looks pretty cute. Last summer I got my nephew one. He totally loved it!

  20. amlo87
    May 9, 2010 at 10:43 am

    sounds pretty awesome 🙂

  21. May 12, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    Interesting article. Appreciate your posting

  22. May 16, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    This blog is very good. Thanks for this. I will bookmark this page.

  23. May 16, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers,

    • May 18, 2010 at 6:26 pm

      Thanks. Appreciate that.

  24. June 14, 2010 at 8:11 am

    i don’t mind served by some robots.. 😛
    i just hope they won’t get out of batteries when my order hasn’t ready yet.
    LoL

  1. May 6, 2010 at 2:24 am
  2. May 6, 2010 at 8:15 am

Leave a Reply

